ex-North trio reunite in a new team

Former North players Nicklas "⁠gade⁠" Gade, Philip "⁠aizy⁠" Aistrup, and Markus "⁠Kjaerbye⁠" Kjærbye have decided to reunite in a new lineup and have already started searching for an organization interested in them. The new team also includes Johannes "⁠b0RUP⁠" Borup and Frederik "⁠Fessor⁠" Sørensen.

gade and aizy are still part of North, which had to shut down all esports operations last month because due to the financial issues caused of the coronavirus pandemic, but the first one is allowed to leave the organization for free, the players commented to HLTV.org. Kjaerbye was moved to FaZe's bench in January to make room for North American star rifler Russel "⁠Twistzz⁠" Van Dulken only five months after stepping in for the international lineup.

Players give another shot to try to resume their careers after rough times in the past two years. They have spent some time together between September 2018 and May 2020, winning the GG.BET Ice Challenge and DreamHack Open Sevilla, both in 2019. Kjaerbye ended up leaving North in July 2020 to sign with FaZe later that summer. aizy was benched and was put on transfer in November as North decided to make space for young talents, with gade remaining in the team as the in-game leader until the organization was shut down apparently.

"After North ceased operations, I began talking with Kjaerbye and aizy about how we wanted to reunite and build a new team," gade said to HLTV.org. "We wanted to find our approach to the game and establish what type of players we wanted to play with and what we would like to accomplish and gain from this project. I think all of us aligned our expectations and standards, which is a really good thing."

gade is also reuniting with b0RUP after the two played together in Singularity and North Academy between 2016 and 2018. The 21-year-old has spent the last month inactive after Heroic has made some changes to their lineup.

As for Fessor, he has only two matches on record since joining BLUEJAYS at the start of February

New Danish lineup:

  •   Nicklas "⁠gade⁠" Gade
  •   Markus "⁠Kjaerbye⁠" Kjærbye
  •   Philip "⁠aizy⁠" Aistrup
  •   Johannes "⁠b0RUP⁠" Borup
  •   Frederik "⁠Fessor⁠" Sørensen